Westfall Occupational Therapy Services

WOTS is owned and operated by Hitomi A. Westfall, OTR/L

 

 

WestfallOT@pacbell.net

PO Box 3506

Livermore, CA  94551

(925) 344-4057

 

Home

Services

Credentials

Office Policies

Insurance Reimbursement

Clinic or School Based Services

Common Symptoms

Resources

HIPAA Privacy Rule

Catalogs for the purchase of resources, equipment, supplies and developmentally appropriate toys:

      Abilitations (www.abilitations.com)

      Achievement Products (www.achievementproducts.org)

      Ball Dynamics (www.balldynamics.com)

      Beyond Play (www.beyondplay.com)

      Crestport Press (707) 537-0580

      OT Ideas, Inc (www.otideas.com)

      Pocket Full of Therapy (www.pfot.com)

      Professional Development Products (www.pdppro.com)

      Sensory Resources (www.sensoryresources.com)

      SouthPaw Enterprises (www.southpawenterprises.com)

      Therapro (www.theraproducts.com)

      Therapy Shoppe (www.therapyshoppe.com)

      Vital Sounds (www.vitalsounds.com)

Books/Resources that have been helpful for parents in understanding the needs of their child with SPD: These may be purchased from the catalogs listed above.

      How Does Your Engine Run? The Alert Program for Self Regulation

      Making Sense of Sensory Integration (available as book or audiotape)

      Sensabilities: Understanding Sensory Integration

      Sensory Integration: A Foundation for Development

      Sensory Integration: Answers for Parents (from Crestport Press)

      Sensory Integration and the Child: Understanding Hidden Sensory Challenges

      The Out of Sync Child

      Too Loud, Too Bright, Too Fast, Too Tight

      Unlocking the Mysteries of Sensory Dysfunction

Books that provide activity suggestions for children: These may be purchased from the catalogs listed above.

      Core Concepts in Action (from Vital Sounds)

      Just Take A Bite

      Kids on the Ball

      101 Activities for Children in Tight Places

      The Out of Sync Child has Fun

      Take Five: Staying Alert at Home and School

      Tools for Parents

      Tools for Teens

Organizations that provide information and support for individuals and professionals interested in Sensory Processing Disorder (SPD):

      STAR Institute for Sensory Processing Disorder (www.SPDNow.org): a website dedicated to providing information to parents and professionals regarding Sensory Processing Disorder (SPD). The site has a list of providers as well as several links to articles and information about SPD and how to assist those individuals who have symptoms of SPD.

      STAR Institute for SPD (www.spdstar.org): provides information and resources to parents of children who have SPD.

Resources for Parent & Professional Support and Education:

      Autism Speaks: (www.autismspeaks.org) Site provides families information about Autism and current research.

      Autism Support Network: (www.autismsupportnetwork.com) Site provides families information about Autism.

      Autism Consortium: (www.autismconsortium.org) Site provides families information about Autism and current research.

      CHADD (www.chadd.org): Provides education, advocacy and support for those with ADD/ADHD

      The Interdisciplinary Council on Developmental and Learning Disorders (www.icdl.com): Supports the work of Dr. Stanley I. Greenspan, M.D. the developer of the DIR/Floortime treatment approach.

      iCan Shine (www.icanshine.org): This site provides information about a specialized program developed by Dr. Richard E. Klein, in order to teach children with special needs to ride a bicycle without training wheels. Two of my clients participated in the January 2006 event with great success, accomplishing in one weekend (with another week or two of practice at home) what they have been trying to do for a couple of years.

      Parents Helping Parents (www.php.com): A parent support group for those whose children are affected by developmental or learning disabilities.

      Schwab Foundation for Learning (www.schwablearning.org): Supports the work of Dr. Mel Levine, well known for his work in understanding the needs of children with learning disabilities.

      Tourette Syndrome Plus (www.tourettesyndrome.net): by Leslie E. Packer, PhD provides information about Tourette Syndrome as well as a number of other childhood disorders. It includes links to other articles and information as well as information to support performance at school (classroom, homework, test taking, etc).

Links to websites supporting and explaining sound based treatments used at WOTS:

      iLs (Integrated Listening Systems): www.integratedlistening.com

      Therapeutic Listening Program (Vital Links): www.vitallinks.net

      Interactive Metronome: www.interactivemetronome.com

Organizations that govern and support the OT profession and OT professionals who practice in California:

      AOTA (www.aota.org): The American Occupational Therapy Association, Inc.

      NBCOT (www.nbcot.org): The National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy, Inc.

      CBOT (www.bot.ca.gov): The California Board of Occupational Therapy

      OTAC (www.otaconline.org): The Occupational Therapy Association of California

 

WestfallOT@pacbell.net

(925) 344-4057

PO Box 3506, Livermore, CA  94551

2005-2016 Westfall Occupational Therapy Services. All right reserved.